EU SALES: items will be charged EU VAT on arrival. Sorry! Use ebay or Amazon to avoid.
Cart 0

Jungle Records

Hillbilly Moon Explosion 'The Sparky Sessions' 180g vinyl LP

£14.99 £16.99

* NOW IN STOCK! *  We'll post usually within 1-3 days of your order.

The Hillbilly Moon Explosion are a European rockabilly band.  They've just returned from the USA where they performed their own unique vision of Rockabilly to Americans!

They’ve long held the USA and it's music in their hearts.  Way back in 2006 they travelled to San Diego to record an album ‘All Grown Up’ with producer Mark Neill (Black Keys). 

Since then they’ve become a viral phenomenon, with their ‘My Love For Evermore’ inspiring myriad tattoos, cover versions, 7” pressings and umpteen million Youtube views.

That track was their first duet with Mark ‘Sparky’ Phillips, the wayward singer from Welsh psychobilly band Demented Are Go.  His well-worn vocals contrasting with the sultry Emanuela Hutter made the pairing one that had to be repeated on their next two albums. 

Now they are to release a whole album of duets with Sparky, tellingly titled ‘The Sparky Sessions’.  The album features new recordings, including songs written by all of the lead singers, as well as 60's covers like 'Can't Keep My Eyes On You', 'Baby I Love You', and Brit rocker Crazy Cavan's 'Teddy Boy Flick Knife Rock'n'Roll'.  Previous Sparky duets from their previous three albums also feature, including 'Jackson' and the aforementioned 'My Love For Evermore'.

In April they undertook an 11-day US west coast tour, concluding at the renowned ‘Viva Las Vegas’ Rockabilly Festival on April 20.  Sparky however will remain a mystery for Americans.  He’s barred from the country after multiple arrests and jail terms during earlier Demented Are Go USA tours. 

The Hillbilly Moon Explosion are comprised of two Englishmen living abroad – Oliver Baroni, double bass & vocals, and Duncan James, guitar; a French drummer Sylvain Pettitte, and their captivating Italian/Swiss chanteuse, Emanuela Hutter.  Their home town is Zurich in Switzerland.

Tracks:  Broken Love, Queen of Hearts, Stumble Through the Darkness, Obsession, Baby I Love You, Teddy Boy Flick Knife RocknRoll, Can’t Take My Eyes Off You, Northern Crown, Jackson, Black Ghost, My Love For Evermore. 

More dates are planned in Europe.  Full details here:

Listen to the videos below, or on:  Spotify  Apple/iTunes   Amazon

A new video for one of the tracks on the album has just been published:-



Share this Product

More from this collection